Connect with us


FULL LIST: FG Releases Federal, State And Private Universities Approved to Run Post-Graduate Programmes



The National Universities Commission (NUC) has released the list of federal, state and private universities that have the approval to operate post-graduate programmes, that is, Masters and PhD degrees.

The list was published on the commission’s official website.

Federal, state and private universities in Nigeria that have the NUC’s approval to run post-graduate programmes in Nigeria. Photo credits: PIUS UTOMI EKPEI/AFP, AMINU ABUBAKAR/AFP

The NUC expressed worry that some universities in the country are running unapproved postgraduate programmes.

It added that some institutes are awarding postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliations with Nigerian and foreign Universities.

The commission stated:

“Such practices are not only unethical, but also antithetical to time-tested quality assurance best practices. The qualifications/awards resulting therefrom are not recognized.”

According to the NUC, below is the list of universities that have the approval to offer postgraduate programmes (Masters and PhD) as of 15th April 202:

Federal Universities
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria

Air-Force Institute of Technology Kaduna

Alex Ekweme Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi

Bayero University, Kano

Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta

Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun

Federal University of Technology, Akure

Federal University of Technology, Minna

Federal University of Technology, Owerri

Federal University Oye Ekiti, Ekiti State

Federal University, Dutse

Federal University, Dutsin-Ma

Federal University, Kashere

Federal University, Lafia

Federal University, Lokoja

Federal University, Wukari

Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike

Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola

National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos.

Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna

Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife

University of Abuja, Gwagwalada

University of Agriculture, Makurdi

University of Benin, Benin City

University of Calabar, Calabar

University of Ibadan, Ibadan

University of Jos, Jos

University of Lagos, Akoka

University of llorin, llorin

University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri

University of Nigeria, Nsukka

University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt

University of Uyo, Uyo

Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto

State Universities
Abia State University, Uturu

Adamawa State University, Mubi

Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko

Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot Ikpaden

Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma

Bauchi State University Gadau

Benue State University, Makurdi

Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli

Cross River University of Technology, Calabar

Delta State University, Abraka

Edo University, Iyamho

Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki

Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti,

Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu

Gombe State University, Gombe

Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai

Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Rumuolumeni

Imo State University, Owerri

Kaduna State University, Kaduna

Kano State University of Science and Technology, Wudil

Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero

Kogi State University, Anyigba

Kwara State University Malete

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso

Lagos State University, Ojo.

Nasarawa State University, Keffi

Niger-Delta University, Wilberforce Island

Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye

Osun State University, Oshogbo

Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt

Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode

Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina

Yobe State University, Damaturu

Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano

Private Universities
Achievers University, Owo

Adeleke University, Ede

Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State

African University of Science and Technology, Abuja

Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo

Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin

Al-Qalam University, Kastina

American University of Nigeria, Yola

Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo

Baze University, Abuja

Bells University of Technology, Ota

Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

Bingham University New-Karu

Bowen University, Iwo

Caleb University, Lagos

Covenant University, Ota

Crawford University, Igbessa

Crescent University, Abeokuta

Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin, Ondo State

Fountain University, Osogbo

Godfrey Okoye University Ugwuomu-Nike, Enugu

Igbinedion University, Okada

Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji, Osun State

Landmark University, Omu-Aran

Lead City University, Ibadan

Madonna University, Okija

Mountain Top University, Ogun State

Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja

Novena University, Ogume

Oduduwa University Ipetumodu

Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos

Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State

Salem University, Lokoja

Samuel Adegboyega University, Edo State

University of Mkar, Mkar

Veritas University Abuja

Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa, Edo State

Proposed private universities awaiting FG’s final approval
Meanwhile, the NUC has also released the list of new proposed universities that are awaiting the federal government’s approval.
The proposed universities were listed in the NUC’s bulletin published on Monday, September 20.

The promoters of the proposed private universities have successfully submitted their letters of intent at the NUC new Board Room.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Trending News

Recent Stories